UGA Staff Council

Making a Great Place to Work Even Better!

The mission of Staff Council is to participate in the process of University governance by advising the President of the University, electing staff representatives to the University Council, and by providing a sounding board for staff to communicate to Administration.

Members of Staff Council are elected by their peers and represent all departments, divisions, and schools at the University. All non-faculty employees who are designated as regular (not temporary) are eligible for membership in the Staff Council.

Staff members attend the Staff Appreciation Day with the National Championship trophies

About Staff Council

UGA’s Staff Council serves the university community in several important ways.  According to our bylaws we are tasked with:

All our general meetings are open to the UGA community; visit our calendar for upcoming dates and locations.

Questions? Comments? We’d love to hear from you!

Contact Us!

Staff Council Leadership


Savannah M. Hembree (2020-current)

Recording Secretary

Melissa McBride (2022-current)

At-Large Member

Sara Ervin Smith (2022-current)


Jennifer Leyting (2023-current)


E. Ashley Weed (2020-current)

At-Large Member

Sean Ryder (2022-current)


Laura Kathryne Hogan (2023-current)


Chip Woods (2023-current)

At-Large Member

Christopher Childs (2022-current)